The Joint Committee of CCGs for the Kent and Medway review of urgent stroke services

About the Joint Committee of CCGs for the stroke review

The Joint Committee of Clinical Commissioning Groups (CCGs) for the Kent and Medway Review of Urgent Stroke Services is a joint decision making committee with members from 10 CCGs – all eight CCGs from Kent and Medway, along with High Weald Lewes Havens CCG in East Sussex and Bexley CCG in south east London. 

The role of the Joint Committee (or JC CCG) is to agree how stroke services in Kent and Medway will be organised and delivered to achieve the greatest benefit for the population of people for whom a Kent and Medway hospital is currently their closest urgent stroke service.

The JC CCG is made up of voting and non-voting members. There are two voting members from each of the CCGs each with a single vote. Non-voting members provide support, advice and expertise to the committee. 

Joint Committee Members

The current voting and non voting members of the Joint Committee of CCGs for the Kent and Medway review of urgent stroke services

Independent chair (non-voting)
Dr Mike GillConsultant Physician -Care of the Elderly and General MedicineBarts Health NHS Trust
Voting members
Dr Fiona ArmstrongClinical ChairNHS Swale Clinical CCG
Dr Mike BeckettIndependent Governing Body Member for Secondary CareNHS Dartford, Gravesham and Swanley CCG
Dr Peter BirtlesGPNHS High Wealds, Lewes, Havens CCG
Dr Bob BowesClinical ChairNHS West Kent CCG
Dr Jonathan BryantClinical ChairNHS South Kent Coast CCG
Dr Mick CantorGPNHS Swale Clinical CCG
Dr Mark DaviesClinical LeadNHS Ashford CCG
Dr Sid DeshmukhClinical ChairNHS Bexley CCG
Dr Simon DunnClinical ChairNHS Canterbury and Coastal CCG
Dr Peter GreenClinical ChairNHS Medway CCG
Dr Ethan Harris-FaulknerGPNHS Bexley CCG
Dr Chris HealyGPNHS Canterbury and Coastal CCG
Dr Navin KumtaClinical ChairNHS Ashford CCG
Dr Satvinder LallGPNHS Medway CCG
Dr Sarah MacDermottDeputy Clinical ChairNHS Dartford, Gravesham and Swanley CCG
Dr Qasim MahmoodGPNHS South Kent Coast CCG
Dr Jihad MalasiClinical ChairNHS Thanet CCG
Dr John NedenGPNHS Thanet CCG
Dr David RocheGPNHS High Wealds, Lewes, Havens CCG
Dr Andrew RoxburghGPNHS West Kent CCG
Non-voting members
Ian AyresManaging DirectorMedway and North & West Kent CCGs
Martyn DennyKent and Medway Patient and Public Advisory Group MemberHealthwatch Kent
Glenn DouglasChief ExecutiveKent and Medway STP
Ivor DuffyDirector of PerformanceNHS England
Jackie HuddlestonAssociate Director South East Clinical NetworksNHS England
Steve InettChief ExecutiveHealthwatch Kent
Rachel JonesAcute Strategy Programme Director & Stroke Review Senior Responsible OfficerKent and Medway STP
Julie LoweChief Operating OfficerSouth East London STP
Simon PerksDirector of System TransformationKent and Medway STP
Ashley ScarffChief Operating OfficerNHS High Wealds, Lewes, Havens CCG
Caroline SelkirkManaging DirectorEast Kent CCGs
Nicola SmithStroke Programme LeadKent and Medway STP
James ThallonMedical DirectorNHS England
Sarah VauxChief NurseNHS Medway CCG
Paula WilkinsChief NurseNHS West Kent CCG

Joint Committee terms of reference

The terms of reference for Stroke JC CCG were agreed in October 2017.  The terms of reference are reviewed annually. They were reviewed by the committee in October 2018 and it was agreed that no changes were needed at this time. Click on the link below to read the terms of reference.

Stroke JC CCG Terms of Reference – Oct 2017